November 18, 2014 - 3:01pm --

The 2014 Recognition Night on Monday, October 28, continues to be a high point of the 4-H year -- An opportunity to recognize young people and 4-H volunteers for their accomplishments, their commitment and their character.

Friend of 4-H 2014

to our "Friend of 4-H" Winners!

Donna Arnold and Shawn Mason

Special Awards

The following people have been selected at the county level to compete for state awards

Volunteer of the Year

Paula Thomas

Community Service

Alyssa Chaney, Amber Chaney, Shelby Shank

Meritorious Service

Ron Hurtt

Leadership Development

Eric Glaze

Innovator Award

Terry Winders

Each of these award winners will be completing an extensive application that will be reviewed by the State Selection committee for recognition at the Ohio 4-H Volunteer Conference next March.

Good Luck to each and every one of you.
You ALL deserve the best!


Congratulations to our William H Danforth "I Dare You" Award Winners!

I Dare You Award

John (J.J.) Hobbs and Dana Bullock

The "I Dare You" award is the highest honor awarded to 4-H members in Warren County.  It recognizes youth leadership, character, service and learning.  Danforth dares young people to "stand tall, think tall, smile tall and live tall."

4-H Choice Awards

These awards recognize senior 4-H'ers who consistently demonstrate a high level of involvement in 4-H at the county level, a promise of greater leadership potential and a strong commitment to helping others.





Kiwanis Clover Awards

Sponsored by the Mason Kiwanis, these awards recognizes 4-H members who exemplify what 4-H is all about.  They are the backbone of the 4-H club program:  attending meetings regularly, participating in club activities, completing new projects each year and getting along with other club members and advisors. 

8-11 year old recipients

12-14 year old recipents

15-18 year old recipients

Ellie Abshire
Tomi Rose Burkhart


Emma Davis
Lauren Heck
Reilly Hoover
Britney Yaekle

Taylor Cox
Sarah Doughty
Nina Roberts
Jacob Wilhite

Shining Stars and Shooting Stars

These awards recognize those 4-H members in our clubs who put forth extra effort to improve themselves, improve their 4-H club and improve the overall 4-H program.  They are role models for other 4-H members. 

Shining Stars

Della Arnold
Hannah Arstinghall
Callie Banks
Isaac Bendel
Andrew Cain
Katie Feldmann
Haleigh Gantner

Maddie Gerdes
Lauren Heck
Amy Hummel
Arden Kamentz
Kaleigh Kilburn
John Kirby
Russell Kolb

Carly Lawson
Adam Seemann

Shelby Shank
Joseph Shawhan
Dora Vrettos
Aliya Winkler


Shooting Stars

Chris Allgeier
Ashley Back
Megan Coffman
Rebekah Davenport
Chase Forman

Taylor Giltrow
Brycen Havens

Liz Hicks
Abegael Koerber
Isaac Kurtz
Keeli LaCroix
Amelia Mason
Logan Maxfield
Ethan Michna

Lauren Moore
Kylie Mullendore
Emma Seay
Austin Vonderhaar
Chloe Warburton
Tyler Winders



Achievement Awards

4-H is a "learning by doing" program.  These awards are given to members who have achieved above and beyond in a project area, overcome obstacles, and who demonstrate a well-rounded 4-H experience.  Expereince in 4-H projects and activities, leadership and community service are all factors in the selection process.

Achievement Category Recipient(s)
Aerospace Dawson Siebert and Pete Siebert 
Archery Bradley Esterbrook, Eva Simmerman and Molly Shuh
Beef Zach Back, Jera Jordan, Ryan Jordan and Allie Steiner
Cat  Anja Bally
Clothing  Leah Berkebile, Caroline Briggs, Hannah Wolfenbarger
Creative Arts  Emily Gordon, Bryce Long, Alexis Westrick and Cheyenne Wolfenbarger
Creative Writing  Adrianna Gayheart and Shea Schell
Dog Care  Madelyn Basta, Leah Brown, Regina Cooper, Katie Oliver and Eva Simmerman
Electricity  Matthew Gordon
Engineering  Adam Beeson and Hannah Wolfenbarger
Fishing  Matthew Pearson
Food & Nutrition

Grace Cauley, Carly Lawson, Shea Schell and Brady Wolfenbarger

Gardening Emily Gordon and Matthew Gordon
Goat Melissa Emery, Lillian Harris, Max Pierce, Benjamin Wehner, Aliya Winkler and Mackynzi Vonderhaar
Gun Safety Alexander Kidd and Tyler Winders
Home Decorating  Maria Lane
Emily Boesenberg, Selina Bower, Kennedi Grismer, Kaitlyn Holbrook, Frances Hultgren, Savannah Lovins, Angela Shetterly and Brianna Sorum
Leadership Eric Glaze
Llama & Alpaca Maggie Wallman
Money Management John Gridley
Natural Resources Veronica Briggs
Pet Care Hannah Arstingstall and Olivia Davenport 
Photography Reilly Hoover, Carly Lawson and Bryce Long
Ellie Abshire, Alton Albright, Garrett Brown, Emma Davis, Seth DeLaVega, Tori Kenline, Savannah Lovins and Ethan Michna
Rabbit Hannah Arstinghall, Adrianna Gayheart, Taylor Giltrow, Natalie Kritzer and Adam Seemann
Self-Determined Bryce Long and Cheyenne Wolfenbarger
Sheep Ashton Nahrup
Shooting Sports Garrett Brown, Jack Gridley, Emma Pinnick, Emma Schatzel and Brady Wolfenbarger
Small Engines  Brady Wolfenbarger
Swine Isaac Bendel, Kacey Dirksen, James Honerlaw, Jera Jordan, Colin Truett and Ben Wehner  
Veterinary Science Ashley Back and Jera Jordan
Welding  Pete Siebert
Woodworking Rebecca Davenport and Cassie Davis
Non-Project Sarah Hendrix and Ciara Lawson

Honor Clubs

The honor club distinction is presented to clubs that have done an outstanding job of club organization, project education, leadership, citizenship, 4-H promotion, county 4-H involvement and community service. 

Club Organizational Advisor
4-H Clover Crusaders  Jill Honerlaw 
Aim High Fred Winkler
Clover Canine Club Sherri Martin
Franklin Aggies  Bonnie Beel 
Lebanon Mustangs Jenny Kuenle
Lucky Leprechauns  Shawn Mason
Mid-Valley Riders  Marilyn Kohler 
Mid-Valley Wranglers  Debbie Heck 
Odyssey  Butch Schappacher
Pathfinders  Melissa Quellhorst 
Savvy Riders  Emily Gerdes
Warren County Bandits  Cathy Truett
Warren County Dairy Goat Club  Gretchen Bendel 
Warren County Livestock Club  Brenda Morgan
Warren County Rabbit Club Tim Branham
West Turtlecreek Hustlers Ann Ball